About Us


Michael McSurdy, President and CEO

Michael McSurdy brings nearly three decades of professional experience to Family & Children’s Service. Michael has a Master’s Degree in Expressive Therapy from the University of Louisville. He began his career as a child and family therapist. After serving as Program Manager of the Foster Care, Adoptions, and Independent Living Program for the UT College of Social Work, Michael then served as Director of Foster Care Services for the Tennessee Department of Children’s Services, where he supervised statewide policy development and foster care programs. After years of public service, Michael began his non-profit career at Oasis Center, where he served as Vice President for Programs for eight years. While at Oasis, he was awarded a scholarship from the Center for Non-Profit Management and obtained an MBA from Vanderbilt’s Owen School of Business in 2009. Michael became President & CEO of FCS in 2011.

Annabelle Cruz, Vice President of Finance and Administration

Annabelle Cruz graduated from the University of Puerto Rico with a Bachelor's Degree in Business Administration. Annabelle has more than two decades of experience in human resources, project management, budgeting, and finance and has worked in both state government and the non-profit sectors. She is an active member of the Society for Human Resources Management (SHRM) and the Association of Latino Professionals in Finance and Accounting (ALPFA). Annabelle joined the FCS team in 2010.

T. Allen Morgan, Vice President of Advancement

T. Allen Morgan is a CFRE-certified fundraiser and has a Master’s Degree in Public Administration from Tennessee State University. He has more than 20 years of experience in non-profit management. T. Allen has dedicated his life to the service of others and public service is his passion and life’s work. During his nonprofit career, T. Allen has raised millions of dollars for education, social services, the arts, and environmental causes. He is a member in good standing of the Association of Fundraising Professionals (AFP). T. Allen joined FCS in 2011.

  • John M. Steele, President
  • Jim Kelley, Vice President
  • Kelly Holmes , Secretary/Finance
  • Anne Elizabeth McIntosh , Governance
  • Nancy Stabell, Board Representative
  • Evette White, Immediate Past President
  • Meg Rush, M.D., CASA Board President
  • Herman Hicks, CASA Board Treasurer
  • Beth Alexander
  • Olatayo Atanda
  • Mary Lee Bartlett
  • Maggie Bond
  • Todd Carter
  • George H. Cate, III
  • Cullen Douglass
  • Missy Eason
  • Sarah Ann Ezzell
  • Matt Harris
  • Ellen Jacobs
  • William Liles
  • Vickie McCluggage
  • Marlene Eskind Moses
  • Courtney Necessary
  • Beth O'Shea
  • Aylin Ozgener
  • Perri duGard Owens
  • Shawn Pelletier
  • Tony Rose, Jr.
  • Tracey Silverman
  • Earle Simmons
  • Joni Werthan
  • Rev. Neely Williams
  • Battle Williford
  • Dave Alexander
  • Drew Alexander
  • Honey Alexander
  • David Anderson
  • Hunter Atkins
  • Louise Bairnsfather
  • Holly and Jeremy Barnhart
  • Susan Bell
  • David Bennett
  • Albert Dale, III
  • Betty and Marty Dickens
  • Annette Eskind
  • Laurie and Steven Eskind
  • Richard Eskind
  • William (Billy) Eskind
  • Kay and Richard Francis
  • David Furse and Kimberly Pace-Furse
  • Judge Barbara Haynes
  • Donald Holmes
  • Kevin Hunsinger
  • Heloise Kuhn
  • Bert Lyles
  • H. Hill McAlister
  • Robert Parker
  • Jessica Powell
  • Virginia Pupo-Walker
  • Anthony Rose
  • Eddy Rosen
  • Debbie Sandwith
  • Nelson Shields
  • Joan Shayne
  • Judy Simmons
  • Robert Tuke
  • Karen and Brian Vingelen, Advisory Board
  • Joyce Vise
  • Vicki Yates
  • Stephen Zralek